The man behind the curtain

Umm…..as much as I hated Locke, I am in shock. Let me get out all the questions I have first after this episode. How is Richard the same age? How is Ben the same age as since the purge, which was apparently at least 16 years ago as we have no evidence of Alex? Why did Ben want Locke to join them and then killed him? Why didn’t Locke lie about what Jacob said? Why does Jacob freak out when there are flashlights? Is there even a Jacob? (I think YES) What else has Ben lied about? Why would Richard follow Ben if he was obviously on the island longer? (I have a theory) Why did no one protect Mikhail from Locke (Richard and Tom just stood there and watched) Why did Juliet tell Jack? Did Sawyer steal the tape or did Locke give it to him? and so much more.

Ok, so I think that Ben is the leader because he saw his mother after she was dead, but others saw dead people too (Jack and Eko), so did they just think that Locke had. I think Jacob is real, and maybe Locke couldn’t see him because he didn’t actually kill his father and Ben did. Sorry this is so fragmented, I am still in shock. Ok, next idea. The Hostiles are apparently connected to the whispers. Why didn’t they go to the other hatches, namely where Rizinski was, and later Desmond. They must have known that was real and someone needed to stay there to push the button. Why did Alex give him the gun, to protect him from Ben? Does she know? Why has no one questioned Ben’s authority? I still want to know how he became the one in power. Someone else has to have talked to Jacob, Ben didn’t just find him on his own! Why would Ben kill Locke? I know he said it was because he heard Jacob too, but it seems he still needs Locke to find the answers that he seeks. Why would Ben even take him to Jacob? I really want to know about Jacob and the flashlight. Was it to hide something, you can’t see much with just a lantern. Interestingly, all planes crash that get around the island, but there are the barracks and the fence that have electricity. I don’t know where I am going with that… Oh, why is Dharma still dropping things on the island? Because the button was still being pushed. So Ben is the last member of Dharma on the island, interesting…

Oh, and see, we could trust Jack! I was almost thinking we couldn’t, but now we know! That is kind of awkward for Kate and Sawyer to hear the tape, I am sure. I wonder why Juliet would tell Jack. She must have went with Ben long enough to get away from the group, and then turned on him. Maybe those aren’t the true instructions and Juliet is still playing them. Ben seemed to make it obvious about the tape so Locke would know where it was and take it. Maybe it is still all in the plan. Juliet is just too complex to read for sure. I liked Naomi’s comment about them wanting to be saved. Does she have another way for them to get off besides the phone, or is she playing them too? Why would she have told Mikhail she wasn’t alone (when he said she said thank you)? And when did he find out about her ship and such? She didn’t say anything about it until she talked to Sayid, I thought. Anyway, this is really long and I have more to think about. I will write more later. The next two weeks are going to be awesome!

~ by lostamber on May 9, 2007.

11 Responses to “The man behind the curtain”

  1. ok, there is a Jacob. I didn’t see it, but check out this Web site. Apparently this is what you see after he pushes Ben against the wall.
    http://losteastereggs.blogspot.com/2007/05/11-frames-of-jacob.html

  2. All I can say is, “Finally! A flashback for Ben!” It was an awesome episode. I had questions about whether or not Ben was born on the island, even though he repeatedly said he was, but this obviously cleared it up. I also thought it was interesting that he was bron outsie Portland (according to the road sign), and Richard and Ethan told Juliet that they would take her to study in Portland, originally.

    I don’t have a lot of theories, but I think about a lot of the stuff before and after the episode. I’m disappointed Locke got shot, but I’m not 100 percent sure he’s dead. The episode never showed him actually “die.” The whole Dharma thing is really quite disturbing.

    And, sorry Amber, but I’m not so sold on Jack as you are. He needs to be a little more open before I can have a lovefest like you have. The last episode will bea beast, given that it is the day the Others are going to infiltrate the camp.

    Another question: Will Naomi join the fight (I think Ben would want her dead) against the Others?

  3. I wrote a really long reply yesterday and for some reason it didn’t post. I guess I’ll write it again later. It was good though, you’ll all like it.

  4. I think Jacob might “save” Locke. I was so excited for Ben’s flashback too. It was great to see how he was involved with Dharma.
    Katie, you need to hurry and write too.

  5. Jack made me so mad. He was like, “I hadn’t decided what to do yet.” What is that supposed to mean? “I wasn’t going to tell you until it was necessary that the pregnant women were being kidnapped, not even the pregnant women themselves” or “I wanted to save you all by myself!” (in whiny 2-year-old voice).

    Does anyone think that Locke isn’t dead? I’m pretty sure, since he didn’t have a flashback episode, he’s not going to die.

    Ben gives me the jibblies even more…Kills off all the Dharma-ites, basically, to help along natural selection. I also wondered why Ben freaked out in the end when he originally wanted Locke to join them, too. I think Ben’s at the breaking point. I also want to know why he’s in power.

    On to the tape and the possibility of an insanely complex plan involving Juliet…I just don’t think so. I mean, I might eat my words, but Ben looked geniunely distraught when that one guy came in and asked for the tape. Just my thinking…

  6. Not all the Dharma people were killed though. Did you notice Ben said he and some others were smart enough not to end up in the pit? So there are Others who were also originally part of Dharma. The more I think about it, the more that I think Locke isn’t dead. We’ll see.

  7. Hey, I have a little bit of a spoiler… So if you don’t want to know don’t read on….
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    http://tv.msn.com/tv/sweetsweeps2007?GT1=7703&photoidx=20

  8. Oh, I submitted that too soon. I also wanted to say: read the paragraph about it on the right. I just have to say, that I knew it.

  9. wait a second… why did alex tell locke to take the gun with him… Did Ben have his own gun or did he shoot locke with locke’s own gun?!

  10. I think that Ben had his own gun. Locke stood up and turned around and Ben already had a gun, so it seemed he had one the whole time also.

  11. Welcome to the Lost family, Mel!

Leave a Reply

 
